I Am Not a Morning Person, and That’s Okay

I am not a morning person. I have never been a morning person. I will never be a morning person. And maybe more of us should be night owls.

Back when I had a job, I hated having to be at work at eight in the morning. I am just not someone who can go to bed before one or two AM. Never have been. When I was a kid, I had terrible insomnia every night, lying awake for hours after my parents made me go to bed. I spent a lot of time reading books under the covers with a flashlight.

That problem magically disappeared when I grew up and started choosing my own bed time, because I no longer tried to go to bed before I was tired. I feel more awake and alert the longer the day goes on. I do most of my writing and online selling work in the evening. I try to avoid doing anything remotely functional before noon, because it’s just not going to work out. I sometimes wonder how many cases of insomnia in adults are caused by going against one’s natural circadian rhythms? I know I’ve never had trouble sleeping after waiting until I was tired to go to bed.

Great horned owl 23

It is actually better for writers and people who do creative work to be night owls. One study showed night owls are better able to develop creative solutions to problems while another showed evening people have better inductive reasoning skills (but poorer grades, which makes sense if you consider night owls are not at their best during 8 AM test times).

I have, however, forced myself to become a morning exerciser. So when I get up around ten (one of the perks of being an internet reseller instead of traditionally employed), I immediately get on the treadmill. After a workout, I feel a lot more awake (the coffee I put in my post-workout nutritional drink probably helps too). However, I still find I get more done in the evening, and usually when I finish a book or story I’m writing it’s closer to midnight.

Are you a night owl? Do you like to burn the midnight oil? Do you feel you get more done later in the day?

Leave a Reply

