Who Actually Falls for Scams?

As I’m driving around shopping for crap to resell, I like to listen to the radio. I keep hearing these ads for some sort of real estate scam, where people apparently pay a guy to, “teach YOU how to flip houses using other people’s money!”

Yeah, because life works like that.

And it ends with, “FAYETTEVILLE is the PERFECT market for my system!”

The funny thing is, if I change channels to a station in a different city, I hear the same message, slightly modified:

“ROGERS is the PERFECT market for my system!”

“FORT SMITH is the PERFECT market for my system!”

“BENTONVILLE is the PERFECT market for my system!”

14310173448wkvk

I strongly suspect if I had the money to drive across the country, I would hear one of these for every city I passed through. Because let’s face it, every city in the entire USA is the PERFECT market for this system, right? Because there’s a sucker born every minute, in every city.

What I don’t get is who is actually dumb enough to fall for this kind of thing? Are there actually people whose lives have been so fucking awesome they something that sounds too good to be true must be true? Who are these people?

Being a lifelong cynic born into a family of liars, thieves, and backstabbers, I have no personal experience with this, so I’m going to poll my readers: Have you ever fallen for a ridiculous scam? What was it that made you buy into something that sounded ridiculous and turned out to actually be ridiculous?

One thought on “Who Actually Falls for Scams?

Leave a Reply

